The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Perspective June 9, 2008

Filed under: Faith — thediaperdiaries @ 10:41 pm

 This post so wants to be eloquent and well thought out, but I am sleepy so it will likely be mediocre at best. How’s that for setting the bar low?

Today, I met a dear friend for lunch at the Cheesecake Factory at the base of the John Hancock building. I told Lily that this building was a really big one and if she behaved at lunch I would take her to the top. She was so delightful during lunch and even tried her hardest to keep her napkin on her lap the whole time. She was so frustrated that it kept falling off cause she has such a tiny lap. Too precious.

Anyway, after lunch we took an elevator up to the 96th floor and looked out at the city. To be honest she seemed rather unimpressed. We looked out over Lake Michigan and I showed her where home was, I showed her the Sears Tower and explained how it was even taller. We got back on the elevator and headed back to the condo we are staying at.

On the way home, Lily kept pointing at buildings and talking about how tall they were. I kept explaining that they were a fraction of the height of the building we were just in. To which she would inevitably reply, “Yeah, but look at that one, it’s one of the tallest buildings.” Then she talked about how tall our condo was. It is seven stories high.

It wasn’t until we got back into our condo which has an amazing view of the Chicago skyline that I walked her to the window and pointed to the John Hancock building and she finally saw just how tall it really was. Her eyes got big as she realized that she had really been in a REALLY TALL BUILDING. One that dwarfs most other buildings in her sight line.

So I am reminded that when we are right in the middle of something it is so hard to see what is really going on. All sorts of things seem to be truth that really aren’t at all. It isn’t until we step back and see things from a distance that we can really get a proper perspective. Oddly enough, I just said to a friend today that God is bigger than her circumstances and knows the whole picture when we can only see a tiny portion. Isn’t it funny how sometimes everything seems so big and we forget just how big God is?

I am not going through anything in particular right now, but I hope I am reminded of this lesson Lily taught me next time I am. I hope for someone, this is exactly what they needed to hear today.

 

10 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Heather Says:

    This is a great post about perspective … thanks for sharing 🙂

    ~Heather

  2. Kristi Says:

    Not mediocre at all…great post on putting things in perspective. Don’t you love how our kids teach us some amazing things. Enjoy Chicago. It’s been awhile since we have been back there.

  3. Heather Says:

    Sorry you’re not getting rest. But I’m sure the Cheesecake Factory more than made up for it. 🙂 I’m actually glad we don’t have one of those in town…

    Thanks for this post. I needed to be reminded of that today. Lately I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed about this transition to motherhood…so this image is exactly what I needed and I’m going to carry it with me throughout the day.

  4. Toni Says:

    What a great post. Your little one sounds adorable with the napkin. You may have the next Miss Manners on your hands. 🙂

  5. misty Says:

    Fantastic perspective. Oddly it goes really well with what I blogged this morning…

    She sounds so sweet!

  6. I think this is something that everyone needs to be hear and be reminded me of every day. We often get bogged down in all of the almost tallest buildings that we really can’t see that we’re in the tallest of them all. You’re right. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. skiplovey Says:

    I love how kids are always reminding us of important things even when they’re just being kids. Nice post!

  8. Courtney W. Says:

    dear friend? awwwwwwwww, seeeeeeeee? This was a very deep post. I have to remember this. Because, a lot of times, all you can see is what you are going through and forgetting that God sees everything.

  9. marquita Says:

    Exactly what I needed to hear. Eloquent, indeed.

  10. Jackie Says:

    Oh, you speak the truth! I needed to hear this today….I’m in the midst of my own muddle right now, and I need to be reminded that God is bigger than any silly little circumstance.


Leave a Reply

