The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Friday- Sell Your Books June 12, 2008

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:11 pm

  Since it’s my birthday and I want to spend time enjoying it with the family, not dreaming up blog posts so I am cheating a bit and re-posting a (very) oldie, but a goodie. In fact, I have recently begun retaking my own advice and cleaning off the bookshelf. So I hope you enjoy my “cheating” post and if you want, enter my birthday contest while you’re at it.

So everyone knows you can sell anything on Ebay and buy books on Amazon, but did you know that Amazon is a great place to sell books. It is incredibly easy and a great way to make a little cash from the overstocked bookshelves in your home (or is that just my home?).

If you go to Amazon and type in the title of your book, there is a place on the right side of the page where you can click “Sell Your Books Here.” You simply put in the condition of your book and how much you want for it, and wait for a buyer. Obviously the lower price you list your book at, the better chance it has of selling. Amazon factors shipping into what they pay you and takes a small cut. You are then responsible for mailing the book out to the buyer within a certain window of time. My philosophy is, it never hurts to see what the going rate is so give any old book you want to get rid of a try.

This works well for old text books, obscure books, out of print books, etc. This does not work well for really popular books such as Oprah or Today show book club recommendations because everyone and their dog is trying to sell the same book and listing them at a penny. However, your bonus tip for the day (at no extra charge) is that if you are looking for those kinds of books, look for used ones on Amazon.

So I think it is a win-win. You clean off your cluttered book shelves of books you will never look at again and you can make a little money in the process. Happy selling!

 

5 Responses to “Frugal Friday- Sell Your Books”

  1. marquita Says:

    happy birthday!

  2. Kate Says:

    I’m always selling my old books and have some good prices too. I still think Ebay is the better option but i have used Amazon too.

  3. Heather Says:

    I also have some friends who are opening a used book store in downtown Ada in August – a great way to make some money, clean out your shelves and support local business! 🙂

  4. allie27 Says:

    Thanks for the rundown of how to sell on Amazon. I’ve sold on e-bay and to Half-Price Books, but I’ve always wondered if the $4 worked in as shipping would be enough to cover prices, such as if the book were heavier than most.

    Allie
    Learningtobefrugal.wordpress.com

  5. erin g Says:

    that’s a good idea. also, there are used bookstores around that will pay cash for your older books and movies, etc – even if you don’t buy anything from them (but I usually do). I don’t have as many old books lying around as I used to, since I am getting better about using the library (now THERE’s a frugal friday idea for summer fun!)…


Leave a Reply

