The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

My Link to the Rich and Famous- Part 3 July 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — thediaperdiaries @ 10:32 pm

  If you are wondering about part 1 and 2 you can find them here (under #100) and here. But those pale in comparison to part 3, cause in part 3, I am pretty sure I actually had a hand in molding the future career of said famous person.

You see, it all begins in my youth, back in Marshalltown, IA. I did what any young girl does who is too young to hold a real job, but needs some money to feed her already developing clothes addiction. I began babysitting. I actually enjoyed it cause I had some regular families with some really cute kids. Plus, I will tell you a little secret if you promise not to laugh. I really like to play with Barbies and it gave me an excuse to do so. Hey, you promised!! Sadly enough, I remember one time arguing with a little girl who was tired of playing with them that we would continue playing with them whether she liked it or not. Thank God I now have little girls.

Anywho, we had these family friends who I would babysit for. They had 4 kids and the oldest was my brother’s age so it wasn’t so much babysitting as making sure they didn’t burn the house down while their parents were away. Their dad was the high school baseball coach so I recall playing a lot of baseball-esque games. It is probably here where the stellar athleticism I possess today first began to develop (ahem).

Fast-forward about 20 years and their youngest son is drafted into the majors. Not only that, but he is the #3 draft pick. Now all of the articles you read will credit his dad and other coaches throughout high school and college, but I am pretty sure those nights I pitched the ball while we ran around the pretend bases in their living room had a lot to do with it. I am waiting for the interview where I get some acknowledgement. Patiently waiting…

So if you go to a Mariner’s game and you happen to run into Jeff, tell him you know the Diaper Diaries blogger. I think he will be really impressed. He may act all aloof like he doesn’t know what in the heck you are talking about. But he knows. He just doesn’t want to be one of those obnoxious people who name drops about every celebrity he knows. Cause God only knows how annoying those people can be.

 

7 Responses to “My Link to the Rich and Famous- Part 3”

  1. Jackie Says:

    I can’t wait to see your curve ball!

  2. dad Says:

    And to think, I knew you when….

  3. Why don’t you call this post, “Reasons Why I am Better than Everyone Else, Part 3″. GEEZ JILL!

  4. Heather Says:

    Jill – you’re cracking me up. I laughed out loud at this post (and also just spelled “loud” as “load” – well, I did laugh a load).

  5. Courtney W. Says:

    ah yes, but will you be in his wedding? yes, I am one-upping you! Yes, I am!!! :-)

  6. Auntie N Says:

    Not only that — but aren’t you (us) related to the owners of the Mariners (or is it a women’s team in Seattle?) You can tell how much I’m impressed by it all:-(

  7. Chelsea Says:

    Next time I go to a Mariners game I will be sure to take a sign proclaiming “Jeff Clement – I read your old babysitters blog!”


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.